Share this on WhatsApp

If you’re an active Twitter user in Kenya you probably have noticed some Twitter accounts that tweet on behalf of State House suddenly disappear. The Twitter accounts, @PSCU_Digital, and @PresidentKE were previously used to post news updates about the president and the government and were managed by the Presidential Strategic Communication Unit (PSCU).

Mr. Nzioka Waita who was recently appointed as Chief of Staff and Head of the Presidential Delivery Unit (PDU) has named four Twitter handles that will only be allowed to tweet for State House through PSCU. The handles, according to a statement by Mr.Nzioka include , , and that of . Remember Kanze Dena was also recently appointed the new State House Spokesperson. Kanze took leadership of the core communications teams, including digital, messaging, research, branding and press.

President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Chief of Staff @NziokaWaita announces that the only Twitter handles that tweet for State House through PSCU are:
1. @StateHouseKenya
2. @UKenyatta
3. @FirstLadyKenya

— Oliver Mathenge (@OliverMathenge) July 27, 2018

“As part of ongoing efforts to enhance accessibility and flow of information from the Office of the President, State House has undertaken a review of the various digital media accounts that have in the past been used to convey official information on the activities of H.E the President, Uhuru Kenyatta,” the statement read in part.’’ the statement read.

“Please note that all official communication originating from the President’s Strategic Communications Unit shall be strictly communicated through the aforementioned channels. Operational correspondence by PSCU staff to media outlets will be done through officially assigned “” email addresses. It is further advised that State House shall not accept any liability or responsibility for any inaccuracies arising from the reliance by a media outlet on communication delivered through any other unofficial means,’’

The same has been done for Facebook accounts with only State House Kenya, Uhuru Kenyatta and Office of the First Lady Kenya being left out.

Have anything to add to add to this story? Leave us a comment in the comments section below.

Related posts